Establishing reading order for complex illustrated ebooks

Accurately mark up and apply the required reading order for complex spreads with multiple overlapping objects

GreenLight icon

Introduction.

This tutorial targets the preparation of the reading order for complex illustrated ebooks.
See the associated tutorial Accessible Fixed-Layout ebooks to cover other aspects of the workflow.

The complex and eye-catching designs of many illustrated books result in them not following a predictable reading order.

These may include text effects, mixtures of fonts, rotated text, overlapping elements, illustrations and graphics, annotations, callouts, quotes and more.

A complex illustrated spread

Establishing the reading order is essential for the reader's understanding of the content and to meet accessibility requirements.

Circular Software provides a suite of tools to determine and apply reading order to different kinds of objects found within complex layouts.

The steps to follow are listed below. Let's get started!

GreenLight icon

Step 1.

‍Appraising the page.

  • As soon as there is more then one object on a page then the order in which that content is to be read becomes important
  • For good accessibility we need to assume that the visual cues offered by text size and formatting are not sufficient and so we add the reading order

Before reaching for software tools the first thing to do is to read and understand the flow of information on the page.

Assess the spread and consider how images will be described and married with the text to establish the content’s sequence and reading order.

Note that larger images may need to be split into their component parts to best describe their different elements.

Depending on the complexity of the publication, determining the reading order may be quite subjective. Establish a method early on for a selection of spreads and aim to be consistent throughout.

GreenLight icon

Step 2.

Considerations for spreads.

  • Typically fully illustrated spreads include images spanning both pages
  • Fixed-layout EPUBs consist of individual pages so content needs to also be specified by each page in isolation

Illustrated books with double page spread images that cover the entirety of the left and right page need to be treated differently when converted to ebooks. By design, fixed-layout EPUBs consist of individual pages so content must be on each page in isolation.

Adventurous print designers may play with the book’s form such as, changing spread orientation or stretching images and text across the fold. Therefore It may be necessary to adapt content so the reading order is re-established by page.

A print layout with content spanning the spread from left to right and back
An adapted ebook layout with the same content arranged by page

In the same way an image’s description cannot span both pages of the ebook. See more in 7. Image regions

GreenLight icon

Step 3.

Different types of content.

  • A complex spread can be made up from a number of different objects incuding base artwork, described images and text
  • Text elements must be treated in one of two different ways for accessible EPUBs; either live text or display text

Being aware of both the benefits and limitations of the EPUB format will determine the different content types for page objects, which will be covered in more detail in the following steps:

  • Live text – selectable text that can be searched and read aloud by screen readers
  • Display text – text integrated with images, or with transformations and effects (such as on a path), has its meaning applied through image description instead
  • Image regions – sections describing parts of a larger image, which may also help with establishing reading order
  • Quotations marks – optional additional markers to denote the start and end of extracted text
  • Base artwork layer – decorative imagery that is not relevant to the understanding of the content

Creating the different types of content and determining their reading order is covered in more detail below

GreenLight icon

Step 4.

Live Text.

  • Live text is the most accessible way to deliver content and should make up the major part of the document where possible
  • Live text can also have semantic meaning applied – e.g. headings or abbreviations – to enable screen readers to function better

Live text in Fixed-Layout EPUBs is displayed using HTML and CSS. This maintains original design choices of position, font, size and colour etc. but allows additional functionality such as adding notes, searching, selecting and reading aloud to be added (depending on the ebook reader used!).

All InDesign text is assumed to be Live Text regardless of its layer. If isolated on one or more text layers in InDesign this can help with the editing and production process. GreenLight print designers may choose to keep the text on the language layers that it uses for translations. e.g. TEXT-UK.

Swapping transformed text with unmodified type styles

Where a designer has used text transformations e.g. for faux italic (skewing the text where a font has no italic type style), this skewing is not supported in an EPUB exported from InDesign.

To workaround this issue, we recommend replacing such text with a different font that has a type style for italic and will therefore be supported.

If a transformation has been used consistently, then the use of Find and Replace InDesign Edit Menu > Find/Replace can speed up the process and ensure all cases are dealt with predictably – e.g. set the Find Format to Carrotflower skewed at a 14˚ angle and the Change Format to Aunt Mildred Italic font skewed at a 0˚ angle as shown in the image below:

Using InDesign Find/Change to swap faux italic skewed text to an italic type style

Users can save complex InDesign Find/Replace queries to reuse again.

Changing Paragraph breaks (hard returns) to Forced Line Breaks (soft returns)

Paragraph returns should only be used to start the next paragraph.

Where text needs to turned to the next line for design or legibiity reasons a forced line break should be used instead, whether in print or digital layout. This will ensure paragraph settings such indents and spacing are applied correctly as well as ensuring text read aloud does not pause mid sentence.

To add a forced line break choose (InDesign Type menu > Insert Break Character > Forced Line Break) or type Shift-Return

To see the symbols for hard returns or soft returns ¬ within text choose (InDesign Type menu > Show Hidden Characters)

Text incorrectly formatted with a series of Paragraph Returns
Text correctly formatted with Forced Line Breaks used mid sentence instead

Where multiple Paragraph Returns need to be replaced with Forced Line Breaks, consider using InDesign Edit Menu > Find/Replace to speed up the process. Press the @ symbol to choose special characters in the Find/Change fields.

As shown in the example above, not all Paragraph Returns should be replaced with Forced Line Breaks so we recommend only changing selected text.

Using Find/Change to change Paragraph Returns to Forced Line Breaks in selected text

Users can save complex InDesign Find/Replace queries to reuse again.

GreenLight icon

Step 5.

DispLay Text.

  • Display text refers to words either included as a design elements or unable to be live text in Fixed-Layout EPUB
  • Text marked in this way can still be referenced in image descriptions for better accessibility

Where text effects are used, including text on a path, cropped text, skewing and scaling, these are treated as Display Text and can be placed on a temporary Display Text layer to help with organisation.

Additionally text may make up part of an image meaning it is not helpful for it to be read aloud.

Small pieces of display text are included in the titles of magazine and packaging etc.

Display Text is combined with images so should instead be included in image descriptions where useful.

GreenLight icon

Step 6.

Image regions.

  • Image regions are a way to attach descriptions and reading order to parts of larger images
  • Image descriptions applied to these regions can describe parts of the page to aid the reader’s understanding
  • Regions can also be used for navigation, helping the reader to move through the page in a predetermined order

By splitting larger images into smaller regions we can add more focussed descriptions into the reading order.

A larger image with regions applied containing image descriptions

Large illustrations spanning across the entire spread must be split into regions to make it possible to add image descriptions for accessibility.

GreenLight icon

Step 7.

Quotation marks.

  • The opening and ending of quoted text may also be marked for read aloud
  • InDesign’s snippets feature can enable pre-formatted objects to contain Object Styles and provide a quick method to mark quoted passages
  1. Drag the quotations snippet onto InDesign’s pasteboard. Duplicate as many times as required for the page being edited.
  2. Two markers are available. For each quotation, drag the open quotation mark (o) to the beginning of the quote and end quotation mark (e) to its end
  3. Amend the numbering in the marker to add to the reading order
Quotation text is overlaid with an opening (o) and ending (e) quotation mark

CircularFLO will substitute these quotation markers with the Open Quote or Close Quote alt text automatically on export.

GreenLight icon

Step 8.

Splitting objects onto layers.

  • Layers allow associated items to be quickly locked or hidden, often helpful whilst setting the reading order of a publication
  • Some layers used for organising and editing beforehand will be merged before exporting to EPUB

Tip: Where there is a lot of display text, we recommend starting from a postion of all text being on a display text layer, then creating a new live text layer and moving any live text frames up to this layer.

Whilst working, it can be useful to have content temporarily split onto more layers e.g. Arrows or Display text.

Before exporting, the base layers need to be merged together to a single FLO_BASE layer for the best results. See step 11.

Further info available at InDesign help article on layers

InDesign's Layers panel showing work in progress layers, some of which will be merged later

GreenLight automatically creates the layers it requires, including:

  • GreenLight_info – contains the GreenLight Book Info panel
  • Section Markers – the section markers for added structure labels
  • FLO_INFO – an instruction layer holding reading order markers and info panels etc.
  • TEXT-UK – a live text content layer
  • FLO_BASE – the base artwork layer, merged from display text, annotation arrows, quotation marks, and print artwork layers

Base artwork layer

We recommend text to be positioned above underlying artwork to provide better accessibility and achieve image quality at lower file sizes and with cleaner code.

If not already separated onto layers, CircularFLO can lift text from the images of fully illustrated books, a tool is available to Lift live text from base artwork

Lift all text from base artwork
GreenLight icon

Step 9.

‍Determining reading order.

  • Reading order can be added and adjusted manually with Circular Software tools
  • More straightforward layouts can be quickly determined automatically

Following the assessment of the page in step 1, it is important to now:

  1. Choose the lead item, bearing in mind that if may not be at the top of the page
  2. Continue to mark the other page items in order

Circular Software reading order tools give a way to add reading order by selecting objects in sequence and drawing regions over the page.

Along with text frames, images and their captions, regions and full page artwork may also be added into the reading order.

The applied reading order is shown with overlaid non-printing visual markers on the page which can be shared with others for approval.

A complex spread with overlaid markers showing the reading order

GreenLight provides tools to both manually and automatically identify the reading order of the text and other content. Typically, for complex layouts:

  1. Move to the page to be edited
  2. Choose GreenLight Tools menu > Reading Order Tools
  3. Click Manually Define Reading Order
  4. Note instructions on how to choose between the different content types:
    - Click with InDesign’s Selection Tool to mark either a text frame or image frame
    - Hit M key to drag out a new region
    - Hit P key to mark an entire page as a region
    each defined marker will be given a colour-coded, dashed border with a sequential number e.g. text frame t1, image frame f2 (representing the HTML figure tag), image region r3, page p4 etc.
  5. If a text frame is a caption, addtionally hit the C key to associate the caption text frame with the previous image in the sequence
  6. Hit R key once completed
  7. Each marked item is added to the FLO_INFO layer
Dialog for GreenLight showing keyboard shortcuts for different tasks

‍

NB: Ensure that the Image Region does not extend across the centre fold (or gutter) when defining, as each book page is treated as a separate HTML page when exporting to Fixed-Layout EPUB.

Auto define reading order

Alternatively, for more straightforward pages with an obvious reading order (top to bottom, left to right) choose GreenLight Tools menu > Reading Order Tools > Auto define Reading Order

All objects on the page are processed, with InDesign's active page taken as the starting point and a choice offered whether to process solely the current page or to continue to the end of the document.

Dialog to choose the page range for the auto define reading order tool

Amending reading order

To amend or clear the applied reading order choose GreenLight Tools menu > Reading Order Tools > Amend or clear reading order and select the appropriate option from the dialog

GreenLight’s dialog to amend or clear the reading order

Choose whether to clear the reading order for the current page, or to amend the existing reading order.

If amending, hold down the shift key when selecting objects in the new reading order, then hit the 'R' key when done to apply.

It may be quicker to change the number for the reading order marker by selecting its text with InDesign’s Type Tool and editing as required.

For more information on applying reading order

Auto define reading order
Manually define reading order

In some cases we may want text to appear on the page but not be added to the reading order – e.g. a running head or page number. This can be hidden by moving it to the FLO_BASE layer or by applying a paragraph style whose name contains the word 'HIDDEN'.

Hide text from the reading order
GreenLight icon

Step 10.

Grouping into panels.

  • By placing content into panels, we gather associated objects together e.g. image region, image description and related text and annotations
  • Panels are used to focus and isolate text and images from any overlapping content, especally when listening with read aloud
  • Panels also help guide the reader through the story and navigate and zoom into page areas with Region Navigation

The marking of different types of content in previous steps has established their reading order but for more complex illustrated books this may not be sufficient!

Panels give us extra control over these types of publication by grouping related objects together and marking them for each page.

NB: We are not using the InDesign Group function here!

A marked up panel containing an image region, image description and related text

The order of the panels should match the reading order of the page objects. Panel order is shown with page number and sequential letters. e.g. 12B for the second panel on page 12.

When viewed with an ebook reader that has support for EPUB Region Navigtaion, e.g. Colibrio Reader, panels help the reader to zoom in and move through the story at their own pace.

The sequence, position and size of these panels are added to the Fixed-Layout EPUB on export with CircularFLO.

Adding panels

  1. Move to the InDesign page containing marked read aloud objects
  2. Choose GreenLight Tools menu > Reading Order Tools > List reading order objects
    The Panel table is created on the pasteboard listing the reading order objects, colour coded by type.
    Each panel will be shown as a black heading row, with the first panel heading already in place at the top.
  3. With InDesign's Type Tool select one or more rows of the Panel table as appropriate to include in each panel.
    Tip: Look for the cursor to change to a right pointing arrow
  4. Click Reading Order Tools > Make panel from selected rows
    The panel is marked on the page with a dashed grey border and labelled with its panel code e.g. 12B
    A subsequent heading row is also added to the table below the previous selected row(s)
  5. Continue steps 3 and 4 until all rows have been specified and the page has been fully marked with panels.
    NB: Make sure the final row has been selected and added to a panel as this will not be obvious in the Panels table alone.
Selecting a row in the Panel table with InDesign's Type Tool (note the right pointing arrow)

Creating Panel masks

Panel masks give a preview of the page areas defined as panels in the previous steps. When previewing each panel, the rest of the page is temporarily hidden (masked) in grey.

Panel masks are quick to add, and need to be added to every page as part of the process

Panel masks need to be added to every page as part of the file preparation process. To add a panel mask:

  1. Move to the requisite page
  2. Choose GreenLight Tools menu > Reading Order Tools > Create page panel mask

All panels are processed and then previewed sequentially.

Previewing panels

When first creating panel masks, they will be previewed. To preview panels at any other time:

  1. Move to the requisite page
  2. Choose GreenLight Tools menu > Reading Order Tools > Preview panels
    Tip: To preview just one panel, select first in the Panels table before choosing

Deleting panels

To change or edit the panel creation or masking process, we recommend removing panels and panel masks and starting afresh. To remove all panels and panel masks from a page:

  1. Move to the requisite page
  2. Choose GreenLight Tools menu > Reading Order Tools > Delete panels and panel masks
GreenLight icon

Step 11.

Merging layers for export.

  • Layers that have been useful for separating content should be optimised prior to exporting
  • Everything on the FLO_BASE layer become a background image with text, image regions, descriptions, markers etc. above
  • This both reduces file sizes and helps with accessibility by ensuring necessary content is live on the page and in the correct reading order

Before exporting, the layers used for base artwork, display text, annotation arrows, quotation marks need to be merged together to a single FLO_BASE layer for the best results.

To merge layers, select the required layers in the InDesign Layers panel and choose InDesign Layers panel menu > Merge Layers.

Tip: The active layer (shown with the Pen Symbol) is taken as the merged layer name

Further info available at InDesign help article on layers

The layers remaining in a document ready for export, will typically include:

  • GreenLight_info – contains the GreenLight Book Info panel
  • Section Markers – the section markers for added structure labels
  • FLO_INFO – an instruction layer holding reading order markers and info panels etc.
  • TEXT-UK – a live text content layer
  • FLO_BASE – the base artwork layer, merged from display text, annotation arrows, quotation marks, and print artwork layers
InDesign's Layers panel showing final layers prior to export
GreenLight icon

Step 12.

Exporting with CircularFLO.

  • Whilst we use InDesign to prepare content ready for export, we need to use CircularFLO to apply the features we have added in this tutorial
  • InDesign alone has no support for features such as reading order, image regions,  panels and region navigation in Fixed-Layout EPUB

This tutorial has covered the process to establish complex reading order in a publication. To now export the document with CircularFLO we recommend following these steps from other tutorials:

GreenLight icon

Tips & Techniques.

  • InDesign often provides a choice of options for carrying out tasks, from menus, panels and via shortcuts
  • Taking onboard selective shortcuts can dramatically speed up the tasks in hand

In no particular order, here are some of the methods recommended by Circular Software:

  • Select through stacking order – Choose the Selection Tool and continue to Cmd-click at the appropriate location in the page. Each item in turn below will become selected.
  • Move a selected object up in the stacking order – Choose InDesign Object menu > Arrange > Bring to Front or alternatively use the shortcut Shift-Cmd-]
  • Temporarily activate the Selection Tool when using the Type Tool – hold down the Cmd-key.
  • Quickly change from the Type Tool to Selection Tool – Tap the Esc key
  • Duplicate a selected item – option-drag with the Selection Tool
  • To hide all but chosen layer – option-click layer’s Eye symbol in Layers panel (repeat to make all layers visible again)
  • To unlock all but chosen layer – option-click layer’s Lock symbol in Layers panel (repeat to make all layers locked again)
  • To reveal all objects on a layer – click the small chevron to left of the layer name
  • To move selected object(s) beween layers – drag dot to right of object name up or down in Layers panel
  • To deselect all objects – use shortcut Shift-Cmd-A
  • To move a selection Marquee Tool (used for Image Regions) – also hold down Spacebar whilst dragging
  • Use Cmd-J to bring up the Go to Page dialog. Check that the correct page number is showing at bottom left of the screen – “seeing” most of the page by scrolling does not necessarily mean it will be the page being edited!